Web Content Viewer
Web Content Viewer

Ohio Quality Wines

The Ohio Quality Wine (OQW) program, established in 2007 by the Ohio Grape Industries
Committee and the Viticulture and Enology Program at the Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center (OARDC), enables consumers to easily identify Ohio’s award-winning wines made from at least 90% Ohio-grown grapes and which have passed sensory and chemical analysis.

Beginning with the May 2012 submission period, Labrusca varieties, including Concord, Catawba, Niagara, etc. were included into the program. As a result of this addition, the OQW program now has three specific classifications which you will find listed next to these award-winning wines.


Vintage Class

  • European Species (Vitis vinifera – all styles)
  • Hybrids (all styles)

Specialty Class

  • Fortified wines
  • Dessert wines

Heritage Class

  • Vitis labrusca – Examples of varieties grown in Ohio include but are not restricted to: Catawba, Concord, Delaware and Niagara
  • Vitis aestivalis – Examples include Norton, also called Cynthiana.

Ohio Quality Wine vs. Ohio Award-Winning Wines

While wines bearing the OQW designation are a guarantee that the wine is produced from a minimum of 90% Ohio-grown grapes, there are numerous other award-winning wines produced in Ohio, made mostly of bulk wine, grapes or juice imported from places such as New York, California and beyond.

Ohio wineries have something for everyone, however if you are interested in purchasing wine produced from at least 90% Ohio-grown grapes, look for the distinctive OQW logo printed on the wine bottle capsule or for the gold foil sticker placed on the bottle of these qualifying wines.

See a complete list of OQW award-winners